Our people

Board members, Ambassadors and Staff of The National Archives Trust.


David Lough


David Lough won an open history scholarship to Oxford University where he gained a first class degree.

Sir Anthony Seldon

Trustee and Founding Chair

Sir Anthony Seldon, Vice-Chancellor of The University of Buckingham since 2015, is one of Britain’s leading contemporary historians, educationalists, commentators and political authors.

Anne Sebba


Anne Sebba is an award winning biographer, historian and author of eleven books.

Ben Macintyre


Ben Macintyre has written a weekly column in The Times since 1998 on history, espionage, art, politics and foreign affairs.

Kamini Banga


Kamini Banga has had a successful career spanning three decades, during which she has helped build global brands across categories and geographies…

Dr Karin von Hippel


Dr Karin von Hippel is Director-General of the Royal United Services Institute.

Marc Polonsky


Marc Polonsky is managing trustee of The Polonsky Foundation, a UK-registered charity supporting cultural heritage, the humanities and the arts.

Peter Stewart


Peter Stewart is a chartered architect and a board director of The Townscape Consultancy, which provides expert advice in the fields of architecture, urban design, townscape and the historic environment.

Shailesh R Solanki


Shailesh R Solanki is the Executive Editor of Asian Media Group, (AMG), Britain’s biggest Asian publishing house. Established in 1968, AMG publishes a stable …

Anita Bhalla OBE


Anita Bhalla is currently Chair of B:Music, the charity that runs Symphony Hall and Town Hall Birmingham, Chair Designate Birmingham City University, Chair of …

Emma Haywood


Emma Haywood is a solicitor and legal consultant with a decade of experience in commercial, intellectual property and technology law. She advises innovative, purpose-driven organisations …

Claire Horton CBE


Since January 2021, Claire has been Director General of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission (CWGC). The CWGC is the inter-governmental body responsible for the …


Tracy Borman OBE


Tracy Borman is a best-selling author and historian, specialising in the Tudor period.

Diarmaid MacCulloch


Diarmaid MacCulloch, DD, FBA, FRHistS, FSA, Professor of the History of the Church at Oxford, Fellow of St Cross College, Oxford, and prize-winning author, has written extensively on the sixteenth century and beyond it.

Olivette Otele


Professor Olivette Otele is a Professor of History of Slavery and Memory at the University of Bristol.

Dominic Sandbrook


Dominic Sandbrook is one of Britain’s best known historians. Educated at Oxford, St Andrews and Cambridge, he is the author of a series of bestselling books about Britain since the 1950s.


Tadas Khazanavicius


Tadas Khazanavicius joined the Trust as Executive Director in September 2022.

Jenny Mason


Jenny Mason joined the National Archives Trust in January 2023 and is the Trust’s Head of Operations. Jenny is an experienced governance professional with …

Eleanor Leahy


Eleanor Leahy joined The National Archives Trust as Head of Philanthropy in April 2023.
Prior to joining the Trust, Eleanor was Grants Manager at the …